The Department of Food Technology is part of the School of Agricultural Technology, Food Technology and Nutrition of ATEI Thessaloniki. Director of the School is Professor Stelios Raphaelides.

The Department is administered by the General Assembly, the Sector Assemblies and the Department Head.

There are three Sectors in the Department that correspond to different fields of the curriculum:

1. Food science

2. Food processing and technologies

3. Industrial applications.

The Sector Assembly is comprised by the Sector Head and Deputy Head, all faculty members belonging to the Sector and the elected student representative.

The General Assembly is comprised by all faculty members and the elected technical personnel and student representatives. 

Associate Professor Alexandros Koulouris is currently the Department Head. Professor Dimitrios Petridis is the Deputy Head of the Department.